I never thought that I’d be in a position where at almost twenty I was being forced out of the “family home”! Yet here I am a week into living on my own and all I can say is that it has been very interesting so far.

I only moved into a studio flat, so space is very tight. I have a little corner in my room where I can cook small meals. Okay, so maybe it’s microwave meals but there is a shared kitchen. I tend to make one trip down on my day off, as it is still slightly nerve racking, you never know who you’re living alongside. I batch cook a load of food while claiming the washer and run back up the stairs to safety as soon as I’ve finished. I’ve yet to meet most of my “house buddies” but I’m quite happy for now, to be the mysterious neighbour.

During my short lived time in the kitchen I have found that I’m not the most terrible cook ever. I know it’s only been a week but I’m not dead yet – haha! I do very much stick to making pasta whether that’s with mince, sauce or just by itself. My friend Gracie has given me many “how to cook like a student” tips, all of which have come in handy. (thanks)

Initially washing my clothes wasn’t as easy. Not only did I spend £5 in the time meter, the first time I tried to wash my clothes, but I still ended up with wet clothes as the dryer didn’t work. You may be thinking, why don’t you buy a clothes horse!? Well that thought did cross my mind, until I checked with my bank account. Looks like I’ll have to wait to be paid before I purchase anything else.

Speaking of money, I have too much fun food shopping. This is something I can see being a real problem. Granted my cupboards are now filled with crisps, biscuits and chocolate but they lack anything of substance. I can see myself munching on toast for the rest of the month. I did try being an adult and writing a list of all the essentials I needed before heading to the shops but that quickly got abandoned. There’s too much that grasps my attention and it is so easy just to fling random items into the basket on a whim. In all honesty, I blame my boyfriend. He could try to stop me but we’re both as bad as each other. Next time he chooses maltesers over electric, he is paying!

Moving out has been a big decision that was made rather quickly but for the most part I am really happy. In fact, I’m the happiest I’ve been in a long time. It’s not just about the extra freedom you get when moving out the family home. For me, it feels like my life is progressing and people may finally start to treat me like the adult I have been for a few years now. My childhood is behind me and I’m gracefully putting my teenage years to rest and I couldn’t be more ready. I don’t want to focus on it being an end though because it is far more exciting to look on this move as a beginning.

As always I’ll keep you updated. I’m finally on a roll with blogging weekly now, so get excited for future content.

