I’ve never been the sort of girl who has had an endless string of boyfriends. I don’t feel the need to attach myself to another human being. Not that there is anything wrong with being a serial relationshiper – don’t think that is even a word so moving swiftly on..

In many ways I’m sure there are perks when jumping from one guy to the next instantly. For instance, there would be no excuse in being nervous around your current “other half’s” parents. After so long you should be used to it. On the other hand, I am not afraid to wholeheartedly admit that I find myself getting very shy and nervous around “my person’s” family even if only for five minutes. I suppose it is a good thing, it shows I want to make a good impression. It does get a little tiresome after a while, being socially awkward but that my friend is why, even with my little experience, I have perfected five foolproof ways in which those awkward people in life can successfully get through those first meetings.

ONE : CHILDREN
No, I am not saying you talk about starting a family with your potential in-laws. It would definitely be far too soon for that and a first impression of crazy is not the signal you are trying to convey. If “your person’s” family have acquired any young children or babies recently, then make a beeline for them. Trust me when I say this, they will be your best friend! Usually children, especially toddlers love a new face and will spend the entire time in your company. Bonus points if they can’t quite talk yet because that cancels out the need for small talk but it looks as though you are making an effort to bond with your other half’s family.

TWO : ANIMALS
Preferably a dog for this one but a cat would suffice in a desperate situation. Again an animal will be your friend. Maybe not as useful as a child but a least it will keep you busy and engaged. Animals tend to relax people so say goodbye to looking awkward and hello to washing furry clothes. They are also great as a conversation starter. Who doesn’t love taking trips down memory lane and reminiscing about old family pets!?

THREE : SMILE
Everyone loves a good old fashioned cheesy grin. It signals that you are a friendly person and if you aren’t comfortable starting a conversation then they will see this as a sign to start one with you. Unless you’re all miserable bastards, so don’t blame me if it doesn’t work – haha!

FOUR : TV
Pretending to be engrossed in whatever shite is on the tele is one of my specialties. It may come across as slightly rude as you are ultimately ignoring everyone but really they should be thankful you grace them with your presence.

FIVE : PHONE
Fuck it, if all else fails better just cut the night short and request an Uber now. They were probably never the one anyway.

And there we have it. My “5 Foolproof Ways to Cope Meeting the Parents”! You may have detected a splash of sarcasm near the end of the list. I never said they would be useful ideas. Let me know if you have any more insight into meeting parents or if you can relate or add to my current list. Remember these options are only from my limited experience.

Till next time,
Em

Disclaimer: My boyfriend’s family are beyond lovely and always make me feel welcome. I’m just an idiot when it comes to meeting new people.

