No this post isn’t about a person, it’s about a cat.

You might have noticed a little unintentional theme in my blog posts recently. I may have mentioned once or twice that I’ve moved from Scotland to my original hometown, Leeds. Moving to another country has been a huge change and I hadn’t prepared myself for how much I’d miss my pets, especially my cat.

Well the other day I finally had a conversation with the parentals about being able to bring my cat, Ziggy (the love of my life) down to live in Leeds.

img_0168

The topic of the cat has been floating in the air for a few months but the other day it was confirmed that no, I won’t be able to bring the cat to Leeds.

Devastated doesn’t even cover how I felt inside. You may have seen in my “Meet the Furry Friends” blog post that I am very much an animal person. I could not (can not) cope living without an animal in the house. Thankfully my dad does have a dog called Megan, but it just isn’t the same when its not your own.

I’m not going to lie to you, I did cry… a lot! I think I was more annoyed because I would never have moved to Leeds if I’d have known Ziggy wouldn’t have been able to come down with me. I was told previously that it wouldn’t be a problem but turns out my sister is allergic. In no way do I blame her, you can’t help if you’re allergic to cats. I know if she could change her allergies she would but it still doesn’t stop me from feeling upset and a little angry.

The question now is, what do I want to do about it!? I’ve been trying to come up with solutions as to how I could possibly have the cat in Leeds with me but short of moving out I’m stuck. Even then I don’t have enough money to rent a place of my own, let alone buy one so the only solution would be to house share – yuck!

You may be wondering why I’m bothering to write a blog post on this but there is a reason I promise. After all this I think I’ve learnt that sometimes, no matter how hard it is, you just have to let go. It’s not like I’ll never see Ziggy again and it doesn’t make sense to move back to Scotland for a cat when I’m so happy in Leeds.

In times when I was stuck in the house spending hours looking for a job and slowly going insane, having Ziggy there helped me clutch onto my sanity but now in Leeds I have to opportunity to finally have a life. I do miss Ziggy every day but it would be madness to give up everything I’ve gained in the last four months (job, friends, social life etc) and take a million steps backwards in Scotland.

Being an adult and having to make decisions about your future sucks sometimes a lot of the time but isn’t that what growing up is all about. Realising that life isn’t all its cracked up to be with minimum wage being rubbish, bosses getting on your nerves, paying bills that leaves you with hardly any spending money and missing the six week summer holiday.

No? Just me then..? Do let me know if you’ve ever been in a similar situation. I have a feeling animals lovers will understand.

Em x

Want to up to date with my life even more? Follow me on my social media!

Bloglovin’ | Twitter | Instagram | Pinterest

