Did the title catch your attention? Good because it ain’t no lie.

Ever since I was a little girl I’ve been brought up being told that smoking is bad and it will do nothing for your health, which is all very true. So growing up I have never once been interested in smoking. I’ve even gone off on a billion rants about how nasty smoking is. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t mind if people smoke around me just so long as they know and respect that I don’t want to. However, as you can tell from the title something must have happened to change my mind. That “thing” being alcohol. (what a shocker!)

I have always been a curious person and I’ve never understood why someone would decide out of their own free will to smoke, but one fateful night out with my friends changed all that. Under normal circumstances I would never go near any cigarettes but my alcohol affected brain decided it wanted to try one and that was that.

It was the strangest thing, holding one between my two fingers gradually lifting it up to my mouth, watching the smoke drift carelessly from the lighted end. Not once in my life had I ever thought that I would be in this position but there I was, about to willingly smoke!

As a side note, I would just like to say that I was not forced into it. In fact my friends actively tried to stop me but it made me more determined than ever to try it. I wanted to know why people risk their health to smoke something that is known to kill you.

Well, I took one drag of the cigarette and was pleasantly surprised. I can’t quite describe the feeling and maybe the alcohol had a lot to do with it, but smoking did not taste awful. My face must have been a picture when I realised what smoking was actually like. I had expected it to taste bitter, like coffee but as I can remember it was almost sweet. On the other hand, the aftertaste was awful. It felt as though my mouth was clogged up with soot and I had the instant urge to brush my teeth. (thank God for chewing gum.)

Do bear in mind though that this isn’t me condoning smoking. I can say that in a sober state of mind I will never smoke. The overall idea of smoking does not appeal but I feel like you have to make up your own mind about these things. Your parents or whoever can tell what to do and what not to do, but unless you make that decision for yourself then how can you possible learn. I mean even now, after that one cigarette if I smell others smoking, I can feel myself wanting one. Its amazing how quickly you can become addicted and in all honesty it isn’t something I want to waste my money on but that is me, making a decision from my own experience, not someone else’s!

Besides I think I’m going to stick to just biting my nails. That’s a “nasty habit” enough as it is!! – haha.

I tried not to make this a one sided argument but you can’t help a girl for having opinions. Have you ever smoked? What are your thoughts? I would love to know.

Em x


Social media anyone!? I’m trying to be an avid Instagramer. (is that even a word?)

Bloglovin’ | Twitter | Instagram | Pinterest

 

