The rain began to pour down heavily. Water droplets chucked themselves from heaven to earth with great speed, splashing onto the ground and making the courtyard a pool of mud but Arabella did not mind. She happily danced in the violent rain, twirling out of control like a hurricane creating a storm. Titling her head to the sky and breathing deeply, her chest moved to the sound of the rain as if one with the weather.

Tybalt stayed safely under the shelter of the barn but couldn’t help but smile at Arabella as she began to kick the puddles, singing her soft lullabies and spraying dirty water onto her already sodden dress. All the while her hair flew madly in the wind, long strands of it clawing at the air and snapping at the rain.

“You’re mad.” He called out into the rain. “You will catch your death.”

Arabella whipped her body round to face him and beamed, grinning from ear to ear. Throwing her hands up into the air she shouted over the rain, “Mad I may be Tybalt, but I find peace in the rain and so should you.”


My writing isn’t perfect and does need work but for now this is just the bare bones of an idea that’s been swirling around in my brain for a while now. Even after all this time I still find writing a struggle at times. I shouldn’t be surprised really, if it ain’t difficult then you’re doing something wrong. Right!?

For now though, I’ll try to find peace in the rain. – Em

Don’t forget to stalk me on social media. 

Bloglovin’ | Twitter | Instagram | Pinterest

