It’s February!! If you haven’t noticed I haven’t blogged in what seems like forever and I have a little confession to make. I lost touch with the reason I started to blog and as a result I became so uninspired. I felt as though all my attempts at blogging were not good enough and it just seemed like a chore, instead of a hobby which I once loved.

In all honesty I was trying way too hard to post content I thought people wanted to read and as a result my personality seriously lacked in these posts because I’ve wasn’t as enthusiastic about them.

I understand that you have to write content which people want to read, but that’s all I focused on. That and getting views and when my statistics started to decrease I wondered why. I should have known what I was doing was wrong, but I thought I was doing what you were “supposed to do”. Now with hindsight obviously those posts weren’t going to do well as it’s all about striking that balance between interesting content and writing about something you are passionate about, because without passion or personality a blog will not thrive or grow.

I got caught up in trying to post every week, and that’s when the content became mediocre. I think if I’ve learnt anything, it’s to not pressure myself into posting if I’m not truly happy with the content. If I, or any blogger for that matter, doesn’t post for a week nothing drastic will happen – its okay to take a break!!

This blogging journey was never meant to be about statistics. I started blogging because it was something I was passionate about, and I wanted to grow in my writing. Don’t get me wrong, I am thankful for all the people who read my blog and leave a little comment but I should never expect views or likes if I post a certain thing. If you love what I write, then great if not, I shouldn’t be fussed. It will just motivate me to continue to grow in my writing.

I cannot help what happened and I did think about deleting An Accidental Author and starting again but I couldn’t. No matter what, I love my blog. It might be small but I did put a lot of effort into in and besides, there isn’t any point in deleting your past when in can guide your future. I’ve learnt a lot from my blog, the blogging community, and my little time away from blogging and I wouldn’t change anything. All I need to do now is learn from my mistakes and aim to make my blog a better place.

So what I’m really trying to say is that I’m back! but this time round, I plan to stay true to myself and not worry about statistics or how many people read what I have to say. At the end of the day, while people may earn a living from blogging (which sounds like the ultimate dream job) I started An Accidental Author as a hobby and as a way to develop my writing and to continue something I love even after I finished school.

I can only speak from my own experience here. You may feel that I’m overreacting, or you may have had a similar experience with blogging yourself. Either way, I’m thankful that you’ve got this far in this post. Give yourself a pat on the back for continuing to read!! I’m very impressed.

I’ll talk to you guys soon, with a post that’s hopefully something I will be proud to share. Till then stay warm and cosy!

Emma

