Hi guys! Over the past few weeks I’ve had quite a few interviews for part time employment – need that cash for Christmas – and I thought I would share with you my tips and tricks for that perfect interview.

Always smile! Smile when you enter the room, and keep smiling until you leave. Its something that employers will notice about you, and as a first impression you cannot go wrong with a smile.

Make them laugh. No, I don’t mean you have to do a full on stand up comedy sketch but even if you attempt to be funny, and you’re the only one laughing they will appreciate the effort you made.

Be confident. I know, it should go without saying but my advice is even if you don’t feel confident fake it until you make it. Employers will believe you are confident even if you don’t feel it.

Be relatable. They aren’t looking to employ a super human – unless you’re applying to be a part of the Avengers – so just be yourself. If you are nervous don’t hide it, they will understand. We’ve all been there and it just shows how much you care and want the job.

It’s okay to exaggerate. In interviews most people would tell you to never lie and always tell the truth but I say its okay to exaggerate. A little embellishment of a story never hurt anyone, but remember never embellish a story too much.
For example it’s okay to say, “I love to wake up early in the morning and see the sun rise.” when the truth is you wake up at 1pm or later, because the employers cannot check if you’re telling the truth or not.

Prepare the night before. Preparation is key. Make sure you have all your documents and anything else you may need packed in your bag the night before. You don’t want to be running around stressed, trying to find your “lucky” pair of knickers right before you leave.

Revise some points to talk about. That way you aren’t walking into a interview with nothing to say. Even if its just some small talk before your interview begins. Its better than sitting there in silence, and it shows that you are friendly and confident. (Remember, fake it until you make it!)

And most importantly don’t give up. I know myself that it can be an up hill battle when applying for jobs, especially if you don’t live in a city, but I just take one day at a time. If you don’t get a job you want then try again tomorrow. I hate to say it but “everything happens for a reason”.

And with that you have all my tips and tricks for a perfect interview. Let me know if you have any nuggets of wisdom when it comes to interviews.

Speak to you next week,

Emma

