IMG_6461

A birthday is a joyous occasion. It is the celebration of someone you love coming into the world on that particular day and every year on that special day; they are typically showered with gifts and spoilt rotten.

While birthdays often provoke a positive response in people, there is a slight darkness to them that has nagged at the back of my mind for a few years now. Every birthday marks another year that has escaped being noticed and is leading towards a final destination and a sudden realisation.

We’re born, we live and we die. That’s just the cycle of life.

But, let’s not get ahead of ourselves. Before we rush towards the end of a life, let rewind and freeze on the end of the beginning, and the beginning of the next great adventure. Confused? Let me clear things up for you. Not trying to be the centre of attention but today is my 18th birthday, and it’s the day I’ve been dreading all year.

Ain’t it fun living in the real world

(‘Cause the world don’t orbit around you)

Ain’t it good, ain’t it good being all alone

Don’t go crying to your mama ’cause you’re on your own in the real world

– Ain’t It Fun, Paramore

Sometimes lyrics to one particular song just hit a cord with you. – see what I did there? – and Hayley Williams hits the nail on the head. As of today I am now an adult, a little fish in the huge ocean, and the world isn’t revolving around me anymore. Not that is really did to begin with but eighteen is the final age we are truly spoilt by our parents. This is because it is the typical age where we are kicked out of the house and pushed into starting the burden of a university degree. (Slightly biased view)

However, I’m not being kicked out of the house, and I’m not going to university. I don’t feel like an adult and for the most part I don’t want to be treated like one. Well maybe that isn’t all true, but everything is happening all too fast for my liking. School is finishing, friendships are ending, and my childhood is vanishing before my eyes. Falling in between my fingers like grains of sand and there isn’t anything I can do to stop it. I constantly think to myself, where did all the time go? It feels like only yesterday I was learning to read and write. You know that living in the real world isn’t all fun and games. Who wants a harsh reality, when they can safely compact themselves in a dream like fantasy.

If you’ve not gathered by now, I am not the typical teenager. If I’m truly honest becoming eighteen is scary. In the next few months I have to sort my life out, get a job, start driving lessons, and never look back. Don’t get me wrong this is all scary good but I want to cherish my youth because one day it will really be gone, and what fun is that?

I do understand that everyone has to grow up sometime, but for now it can wait a little longer. I find that we, as humans have an obsession with wishing our life away. Nobody ever stops to slow down and enjoy the moment and its because nobody realises how much time is passing by. Perhaps I’m just being naïve, and I should embrace growing older with open arms, but the thing is where would we be without our younger, more exciting and spontaneous, yet not absolute cray cray, wild child?

194

